Senior Tennis

New European Senior Champions crowned in Veli Losinj

New European Senior Champions crowned in Veli Losinj

The European Senior Championships visited the beautiful island of Losinj in Croatia last week, where 300 players from 35 nations were in action.

Singles, doubles and mixed doubles events were held for men and women, with age categories ranging from Over 30 to Over 85. Held on the courts of the Ljubicic Tennis Academy in Veli Losinj, the Championships is an ITF Seniors Tour S1000 open tournament, and attracted competitors from as far as Canada and New Zealand.  

Germany and Italy dominated the competitions, accounting for 12 of the 20 singles titles on offer.

For a second consecutive year, just one player managed to successfully defend their singles title. That honour went to Germany’s Eileen Aranas-Roth, who took the gold over compatriot Nina Spaeth in a repeat of the 2021 result.

Two of last year’s winners impressed in new age categories: reigning Men’s 30 champion Jens Janssen reached the Over 35s final, where he was beaten by fellow German Mick Duessen. Multiple European champion Pierre Godfroid, winner of the Mens 60 event last year, was runner-up to Michal Kuchar in the Over 65s. On the women’s side, defending 40s champion Katia Raffagnini Ceracchi returned to the final, only to lose out to Mareike Mueller of Germany.

The final day saw a special award given to the most ‘senior’ of competitors, 90-year old Ashley Wilson of New Zealand.

The event closed with the news that in 2023 the European Senior Championships will return to Veli Losinj, once again in association with the Ljubicic Tennis Academy and Croatian Tennis Association. The tournament is expected to be held in the same week in early June, subject to the ITF calendar confirmation.

For full results from Veli Losinj, click here| 📷 Photo Gallery

Final Results







Men 30

Tibor Kovacs (SVK)

Imre Szboks Olah (HUN)

Men 35

Mick Duessen (GER)

Jens Janssen (GER)

Men 40

Frederic Petitjean (FRA)

Thomas Burgemeister (GER)

Men 45

Kasper Warming (DEN)

Ovidiu Dragomir (ROU)

Men 50

Mauro Colangelo (ITA)

Jiri Prutszyn (CZE)

Men 55

Marco Filippeschi (ITA)

Peter Anneser (GER)

Men 60

Hannes Lienbacher (AUT)

Marek Lubas (POL)

Men 65

Michal Kuchar (CZE)

Pierre Godfroid (BEL)

Men 70

Giancarlo Nucci (ITA)

Keith Porter (CAN)

Men 75

Luis Flor de la Morena (ESP)

Paolo Lazzari (ITA)

Men 80

Hans-Joachim Singhoff (GER)

Giuseppe Losego (ITA)

Men 85

Herbert Althaus (GER)

Henryk Grudniak (GER)




Women 35

Eileen Aranas-Roth (GER)

Nina Spaeth (GER)

Women 40

Mareike Mueller (GER)

Katia Raffagnini Ceracchi (ITA)

Women 45

Valentina Padula (ITA)

Szilvia Pestuka (HUN)

Women 50

Alessia Zerbino (ITA)

Alexandra Ella Mueller (GER)

Women 55

Elisabetta Morici (ITA)

Celine Neefkes (NED)

Women 60

Liselot Prechtel (NED)

Barbara Koutna (CZE)

Women 65

Margarethe Kerschbaum (AUT)

Sabine Schmitz (GER)

Women 70

Reinhilde Adams (GER)

Heide Froeysok (GER)

« Back

» News archive