European Senior Players of the Year

The Tennis Europe Seniors Player of the Year title is awarded to the top-ranked European player of each age category at the end of each season.

Nine players(*) managed the impressive feat of winning back-to-back titles in 2023, retaining their Player of the Year status for a second consecutive season.

In the men’s list Roberto Menendez Ferre of Spain continues his incredible run of winning a Player of the Year title each year for the last eight years. Having made an explosive debut in the Men’s 35s in 2015, he’s been the top European ever since, and retains his 45s title.

Bart Theelan of Netherlands is also building an impressive run, completing a hat trick of 55 titles. Meanwhile, senior tennis legend Peter Pokorny (AUT) returns to the list, extending his record with an incredible 19th Player of the Year title since the award was introduced in 2000.

Liselot Prechtl (NED) and Manon Kruse (GER) have both won four titles in a row on the women's side, while Almudena Sanz-Llaneza Fernandez (ESP) wins the 35s title for a third consecutive year. France's Nicole Hesse-Cazaux wins the 75s title, 12 years after her most recent Player of the Year title.

Four women and four men win the titles for the first time: Eileen Aranas-Roth (GER, W35), Regina Balcune (NED, W45), Gundula Wieland (GER, W65), Pauline Fisher (GBR, W70), Mattia Mannocci (ITA, M30), Sascha Moeller (GER, M35), Serge Gresy (FRA, M70), and Viggo Holm (DEN, pictured), who wins the Men's 90s title, proving you are never too 'senior' to become the best.

30 & Over
 Mattia Mannocci (ITA)  Almudena Sanz-Llaneza Fernandez (ESP)*
35 & Over  Sascha Moeller (GER)  Eileen Aranas-Roth (GER)
40 & Over  Andriy Baidikov (UKR)  Manon Kruse (GER)*
45 & Over  Roberto Menendez Ferre (ESP)*  Regina Balcune (NED)
50 & Over  Jiri Prutyszyn (CZE)*  Ana Salas-Lozano (ESP)
55 & Over  Bart Theelen (NED)*  Klaartje van Baarle (BEL)
60 & Over  Alain Moracchini (FRA)  Liselot Prechtel (NED)*
65 & Over  Norbert Henn (GER)  Gundula Wieland (GER)
70 & Over  Serge Gresy (FRA)  Pauline Fisher (GBR)
75 & Over  Jairo Velasco Ramirez (ESP)*  Nicole Hesse Cazaux (FRA)
80 & Over  Peter Pokorny (AUT)  Michele Bichon (FRA)
85 & Over  Giovanni Argentini (ITA)  June Pearce (GBR)*
90 & Over  Viggo Holm (DEN)  Yvette Laubus (FRA)*


Former Players of the Year

2000 - 2022 (.pdf)