Applying for Development Assistance

Strict criteria and procedures are in place to regulate the allocation of funds to nations that qualify for development assistance. Funding is divided into four specific pillars that cover all areas of development support: Coaching, Events, Facilities and Programmes (Performance and Participation). 

The Development programme comprises international and regional projects. The six Regional Associations administer regional development projects on behalf of the ITF, while international projects are managed by the ITF Development Department.  Prior to the start of each regional project, Tennis Europe will send eligible federations all necessary documentation; circulars, invitations and entry forms. At this time, member nations will be advised on how to proceed with the application process. 

For more information on the ITF international projects and funding, please click here

Eligibility for Development Assistance

All National Associations are assessed for eligibility to benefit from components of the Development Programme on a project-by-project basis. The criteria are based on two elements: 'Resources' and 'Representation', as detailed below:

i) Resource Criteria
A: September 2020: World Bank Ranking of nations above the Global Average GDP per Capita (2019 used in the first instance, with 2018 figures then taken if 2019 figures unavailable). 
B: December 2019: UN National Accounts Main Aggregates Database per Capita GDP ranking of nations 2018 (above the 2019 World Bank Global Average GDP per Capita). 

ii) Representation Criteria
A: Men - At least 3 men (singles main draws) in 2017-2020 Grand Slams, with Direct Acceptance and Qualifier Status only, AND Top 24 Davis Cup Rankings (year-end 2020) (12.10.2020)
B: Women - At least 3  women (singles main draws) in 2017-2020 Grand Slams, with Direct Acceptance and Qualifier Status only, AND Top 24 Billie Jean King Cup Rankings (year-end 2020) (12.10.2020).

Based upon assessment of a nation's resources and representation, each nation is categorised in one of four tiers. The least well-resourced and represented nations are placed in Tier 1 and are eligible for all forms of ITF development support. Tier 2 nations are also eligible to apply for all ITF grants, initiatives and programmes. Tier 3 and 4 nations are assessed to have a greater degree of tennis maturity and lower requirement for development support. 

Classification of European nations (2021)

Tier 1: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine
Tier 2: Andorra, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Sweden 
Tier 3: Austria, Belarus, Croatia, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Switzerland
Tier 4: Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Spain