Beach Tennis

22 nations to compete at European Beach Tennis Championships

22 nations to compete at European Beach Tennis Championships

A record-equalling 22 nations have entered the 12th edition of the European Beach Tennis Championships, which are due to be held in Jurmala, Latvia, from 12-15 July.

This year’s event has been extended to take place over four days, with a total of well over 100 doubles teams expected to take part.

The 2017 competition saw over 150 players from 19 countries in action, culminating in victories for two Italian pairs that went on to finish the season as world #1s; Luca Cramarossa & Marco Garavini and Federica Bacchetta & Giulia Gasparri. Italy also added the mixed doubles title for good measure, with Bacchetta & Garavini teaming up to take home a second gold each.

Italy will once again be the strong favourites to sweep the titles when the player nominations are announced on June 11th. Russia – the only other nation to have so far claimed a gold medal, in the mixed doubles in 2016 – is also likely to field some strong teams, with France, San Marino and Spain amongst the other leading contenders for success.

Having competed at the tournament for the first time in 2017, the Latvian Tennis Union will also have high hopes, with the host nation permitted to nominate one additional team in each event.

The European Beach Tennis Championships is a closed event at which players representing Tennis Europe’s 50 member nations compete for men’s, women’s and mixed doubles titles as well as ITF Beach Tennis Tour ranking points. A junior beach tennis tournament for players aged 18 & Under will also be held alongside the main competition.

To see the full list of nations due to take part, please see the files below:

Entry List | Entry List (18&U) | Roll of Honour 

« Back

» News archive